Great Horned Owl (Bubo virginianus)

I saw this:

how_to_draw_an_owl

So I did this:

owl 10

… which seemed like a reasonable start.

But the instructions got a bit sketchy at that point, so I decided to fill in a few more details:

owl 25

(I’ve increased the contrast so you can see what the details are.)

Then I drew a branch for my owl to shelter under:

owl 40

That looked reasonably convincing, so I drew the owl’s head…

owl 44

… and his chest…

owl 55

… and his wing and tail…

owl 60

(The paper on the right is to prevent me smudging the branch with my hand.)

And then it was just a case of giving him something to stand on and adding a bit of background detail:

Owl2

Leave a Reply

